MASEPESmile Data Base

We are interested in obtaining valid expressions to be used by an animator and in offering an alternative or complementary methodology to the MOCAP techniques, literature references or classical use of a hand mirror. We rely on the fact that Faigin’s [1] work is widely used by animators to create our database.

We have developed a specific database, which provides exactly the 13 types of laughter described by Faigin.

The database consists of 91 videos in an environment with controlled lighting and with the same background colour on all shots. Seven subjects with acting experience performed in the videos. Each subject was asked to perform 13 expressions, starting at the neutral expression. We have shown the actors the image of the expression that appears in Faigin’s work and have contextualized a situation where that facial expression would occur. Each actor reproduces each type of laughter or smiles only once according to the explanation and visual information received. The recording is done once the actor has perfectly understood the type of expression required. In case of doubt, we recorded several shots. Recording sessions are performed with only one actor at a time, so they are not influenced by the performances of others.

In the DB you can find 7 folders (one per subject). In the folders there are the images and videos for each expression notated from 1 to 13 after the Faigin’s expressions order (ie: (1)  Uproarious laughter, (2) Laughter, (3) Smiling open-mouthed, (4) Smiling closed-mouth, (5) Stifled smile, (6) Melancholy smile, (7) Eager smile, (8) Ingratiating smile, (9) Sly smile, (10) Debauched smile, (11) Closed-eye abashed smile, (12) False smile and (13) False laughter).  The folders are named such that the trailing number is the number of frames it contains.

[1] G. Faigin, The artist’s complete guide to facial expression. Watson-Guptill, 1990.

Link to MASEPESmile Data Base

Creative Commons License
MAPESESmile Data Set by Miquel Mascaró Oliver This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License